Another way to edit your Twitter experience: with mute

Tweet

Today we’re beginning to introduce a new account feature called mute to people who use our iPhone and Android apps and twitter.com. Mute gives you even more control over the content you see on Twitter by letting you remove a user’s content from key parts of your Twitter experience.

In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a Tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you’d like to hear from less. Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to favorite, reply to and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you’ve muted him/her, and of course you can unmute at any time.

To mute a user from a Tweet on your iOS or Android device or on Twitter for web, tap more and then mute @username. To mute someone from his/her profile page, tap the gear icon on the page and choose mute @username.

In the coming weeks, we will roll out the mute feature to everyone. In the meantime, for more details, visit our help center page.