Guest post: KPMG reveals Australia’s top 20 Twitter power list

By ‎@James_HGriffin‎
Wednesday, 13 July 2016

Twitter has given a mega-phone to business leaders to directly connect and engage with customers and express their point of view.

Twitter has placed business leaders at the coalface of customer discussions, giving them a direct perspective on how their organisation is faring in the eyes of the customer. As more businesses utilise social channels for business purposes, the risk of not being on social media today outweighs the risk of being on it.

A report released today by @KPMGAustralia Social Media Intelligence has identified Australia’s top 20 business leaders who are paving the way on Twitter.

KPMG Australia’s inaugural “Tweeting from the Top” report details the top 20 Twitter power list, based on a review of quantitative and qualitative data from the Twitter accounts of Australian corporate leaders between 1 January and 10 May 2016.

Among the diverse list are leaders of major corporations such as @Telstra and @Microsoft, and also top executives from sport, media, technology, SMEs and the not-for-profit sector who most effectively share their messages and create valuable connections for their organisations using Twitter.

The KPMG Twitter top 20 power list includes:

  1. Andy Penn (@andy_penn), CEO, Telstra
  2. Jason Killens (@jasonkillens), CEO, SA Ambulance
  3. Holly Ransom (@hollyransom), CEO, Emergent
  4. Kon Karapanagiotidis (@kon__k), CEO, Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
  5. Mark Woodland (@markawoodland), CEO, Myxplor
  6. Brendon Gale (@brendongale25), CEO, Richmond Football Club, AFL
  7. Frank Quinlan (@frankgquinlan), CEO, Mental Health Australia
  8. Pip Marlow (@pipms), MD, Microsoft Australia
  9. Michael Ebeid (@michaelebeid), MD, SBS
  10. Andrew Fagan (@fages1), CEO, Adelaide Football Club, AFL
  11. Todd Greenberg (@todd_greenberg), CEO, NRL
  12. Michael Carr-Gregg (@mcg58), MD, The Young and Well Cooperative Research Centre
  13. Mark Bouris (@markbouris), Chair, Yellow Brick Road
  14. Tony Pignata (@tpignata9), CEO, Sydney Football Club, A-League
  15. Martin Dougiamas (@moodler), CEO, Moodle
  16. Deidre Willmott (@cci_ceo), CEO, Chamber of Commerce & Industry WA
  17. Tim Costello (@timcostello), CEO, World Vision Australia
  18. Cassandra Goldie (@cassandragoldie), CEO, ACOSS
  19. Jan Owen (@JanOwenAM), CEO, Foundation for Young Australians
  20. Julian Plummer (@julian_plummer), MD, Midwinter

In addition to the Twitter power list, the report offers Twitter’s top tips on how to lead the way for business, as well as KPMG’s advice on how executives can better utilise Twitter. Some of the tips include:

  • Share your voice: leaders are the first and last voice of their business. Allow people to hear it.
  • Humanise: use social media to give the public insight into the person behind the position.
  • Add your perspective: add a point of view about your industry, people care about what decision makers think.
  • Shoutout: don’t underestimate the power of a public shoutout to an employee, business, partner or client.

For more information visit KPMG Australia Social Media Intelligence or follow @KPMGAustralia