#ThisHappened: Looking back on Canada's Year on Twitter 2016

By Cam Gordon
Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Here are the names, news items and personalities that kept Canadians talking on Twitter in 2016.

#ThisHappened: Canada’s Most Used Hashtags of 2016

  1. #BellLetsTalk
  2. #Toronto
  3. #Canada
  4. #tbt
  5. #Rio2016
  6. #PokemonGO
  7. #MentalHealth
  8. #ElectionNight
  9. #WeTheNorth
  10. #OurMoment

#ThisHappened: Canada’s Most Retweeted Tweets of 2016

1. A Canadian reacts to #ElectionNight in the U.S..

2. Drake (@Drake) drops the tracklist for his new album #VIEWS

3. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) thanks his fans on his 22nd birthday. 

4. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) shares his happiness on Twitter as 2016 kicks off. 

5. Drake (@Drake) shares a #VIEWS preview video, in part a tribute to his hometown of Toronto. 

#ThisHappened: Key Canadian Twitter Milestones of 2016

  • Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) becomes only the second Twitter user (@KatyPerry was the first) to reach 90,000,000 followers
  • Drake (@drake) becomes the second Canadian musician to reach 30,000,000 followers
  • Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau) becomes first Canadian politician to reach 2,000,000 followers
  • The Toronto Raptors (@Raptors) and Montreal Canadiens (@CanadiensMTL) become the third and fourth professional sports team in Canada to reach 1,000,000 followers
  • Former Toronto Blue Jays outfielder Jose Bautista (@JoeyBats19) became the sixth active player in Major League Baseball with more than 1,000,000 followers

#ThisHappened: The Most Mentioned Canadians on Twitter in 2016

Politics

  1. Justin Trudeau (@JustinTrudeau)
  2. Norm Kelly (@norm)
  3. Kathleen Wynne (@Kathleen_Wynne)
  4. Jason Kenney (@jkenney)
  5. John Tory (@JohnTory)
  6. Rona Ambrose (@RonaAmbrose)
  7. Rachel Notley (@RachelNotley)
  8. Catherine McKenna (@CathMcKenna)
  9. Christy Clark (@ChristyClarkBC)
  10. Naheed Nenshi (@Nenshi)

Professional Sports Teams

  1. Toronto Blue Jays (@BlueJays)
  2. Toronto Raptors (@Raptors)
  3. Montreal Canadiens (@CanadiensMTL)
  4. Toronto Maple Leafs (@MapleLeafs)
  5. Edmonton Oilers (@edmontonoilers)
  6. Vancouver Canucks (@Canucks)
  7. Calgary Flames (@NHLFlames)
  8. Ottawa Senators (@Senators)
  9. Winnipeg Jets (@NHLJets)
  10. Toronto FC (@torontofc)

Athletes

  1. P.K. Subban (@PKSubban1)
  2. Genie Bouchard (@geniebouchard)
  3. Connor McDavid (@cmcdavid97)
  4. Jonathan Toews (@JonathanToews)
  5. Milos Raonic (@milosraonic)
  6. James Hinchcliffe (@Hinchtown)
  7. Andrew Wiggins (@22wiggins)
  8. Tristan Thompson (@RealTristan13)
  9. Andre De Grasse (@De6rasse)
  10. Penny Oleksiak (@OleksiakPenny)

Musicians

  1. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber)
  2. Shawn Mendes (@ShawnMendes)
  3. Drake (@Drake)
  4. Sebastian Olzanski (@sebtsb)
  5. The Weeknd (@theweeknd)
  6. Alessia Cara (@AlessiaCara)
  7. Deadmau5 (@deadmau5)
  8. Celine Dion (@CelineDion)
  9. Carly Rae Jepsen (@CarlyRaeJepsen)
  10. Simple Plan (@SimplePlan)

Actors

  1. Ryan Reynolds (@VanCityReynolds)
  2. Shay Mitchell (@shaymitch)
  3. Stephen Amell (@StephenAmell)
  4. Nina Dobrev (@ninadobrev)
  5. Seth Rogen (@sethrogen)
  6. Stana Katic (@stana_katic)
  7. Nathan Fillion (@nathanfillion)
  8. William Shatner (@williamshatner)
  9. Tatiana Maslany (@TatianaMaslany)
  10. Ryan Gosling (@RyanGosling)

Digital Creators

  1. Lilly Singh (@IIsuperwomanII)
  2. FaZe Rain (@faze_rain)
  3. Crawford Collins (@crawfordcollins)
  4. Typical Gamer (@typicalgamer)
  5. Lauren DIY (@laurDIY)
  6. That Dude McFly (@ThatDudeMcFly)
  7. Jus Reign (@JusReign)
  8. Matthew Santoro (@MatthewSantoro)
  9. Kurtis Conner (@kurtisconner)
  10. Eh Bee Family (@ehbeefamily)