Follow the Ashes on Twitter

By Lewis Wiltshire

2012 went down in history as the UK’s greatest sporting summer, but 2013 isn’t looking too bad so far.

After Andy Murray (@Andy_Murray) became the first British winner of the Wimbledon (@Wimbledon) men’s title in 77 years and the British and Irish Lions (@LionsOfficial) overcame Australia (@QantasWallabies), the scene is now set for the #Ashes.

On the field of play, both England (@ECB_Cricket) and Australia (@CricketAus) will be aiming for victory.

On Twitter, cricket fans across the globe, not just in the UK and Australia, will follow the teams, players, broadcasters and journalists throughout the summer.

Murray has set the bar high for use of Twitter: he tweeted throughout #Wimbledon, interacted with fans and other celebrities, then celebrated with a Q&A and a Vine of his trophy.

But @ECB_Cricket, @CricketAus and their players will both rise to the challenge. In fact Rise is a theme you’ll see throughout the series from England’s Twitter account. Their official hashtag for the Ashes is #Rise. @CricketAus will use #ReturnTheUrn.

The official hashtag for the series itself is #Ashes. Some fans will use #TheAshes but since the teams and broadcasters plan to use #Ashes, that’s the place to join the global conversation.

Here’s a selection of accounts to follow get closer to the action:

Australia:
Cricket Australia (@CricketAus)

Players:
Michael Clarke (@MClarke23)
Eddie Cowan @eddiecowan
James Faulkner (@FaulknerC25)
Ryan Harris (@r_harris413)
Usman Khawaja (@Uz_Khawaja)
Nathan Lyon (@NathLyon421)
Matthew Wade (@MatthewWade13)
David Warner (@davidwarner31)
Coach - @darren_lehmann
Full list here

Broadcasters:
Channel 9 (@Channel9)
Wide World of Sports (@wwos9)
Fox Sports (@FOXSportsAUS)
Fox Cricket Live (@FOXCricketLive)
Fox Cricket (@FOX_CRICKET)
ABC Radio (@abcgrandstand)

You can also check out this list from @TwitterAU featuring previous players and other commentators.

England:
England Cricket (@ECB_Cricket)

Players:
Jimmy Anderson (@JimmyAnderson9)
Jonathan Bairstow (@jbairstow21)
Tim Bresnan (@timbresnan)
Stuart Broad (@StuartBroad8)
Steven Finn (@finnysteve)
Kevin Pietersen (@KP24)
Matt Prior (@MattPrior13)
Joe Root (@joeroot05)
Graeme Swann (@Swannyg66)

Broadcasters:
Sky Sports (@SkySports)
Channel 5 (@channel5_tv)
Cricket on 5 (@cricketon5)
BBC TMS (@BBCTMS)
BBC Sport (@BBCSport)
BBC Five Live Sports Extra (@BBC5LSX)

A list of other useful UK accounts to follow can be found here.

Enjoy the #Ashes, whether you’re hoping to #ReturnTheUrn or to see England #Rise.