The @USOpen serves up big plans on Twitter

By Aneesh Madani
Saturday, 30 August 2014

It’s been an exciting first week so far at the #usopen as the greatest tennis players in the world vie for the final Grand Slam of 2014. Follow the official @usopen account to enjoy the tournament’s biggest social initiative to date, which offers fans a courtside seat to this star-studded event.

Broadcaster Integration

In India, you can participate in a #SocialTV experience with broadcaster Ten Sports (@ten_sports) who will be featuring Tweets from fans during the live matches.

Tournament highlights

From the first serve to the final winner, @usopen has you covered. A few noteworthy initiatives to keep an eye on:

  • #StoryOfTheOpen: Every day of the tournament, muralist Josh Cochran will use a New York City billboard to visualize the #usopen social conversation. Fans can use the hashtag #StoryoftheOPEN to convey their favorite US Open moments to inform the billboard.

  • Twitter Mirror and Vine 360 Booth: The #usopen attracts not only the best tennis players in the world, but celebrity fans as well. This year, the tournament will feature both a Twitter Mirror and Vine 360 booth on-site, capturing high-profile players and their celebrity onlookers with exclusive, authentic photos and videos. The celebrity action kicked off with @AAKidsDay last Saturday, with several high-profile music acts having fun with the Twitter Mirror:

  • Social Wall at the venue: At the tournament itself, fans can check out the Social Wall, which aggregates and organizes the compelling #usopen social conversation.

The @USOpen serves up big plans on Twitter

Photo courtesy of the USTA

Hashtag

Be sure to use the exclusive hashtag of the tournament (#usopen) to join the conversation and access exclusive Grand Slam content.

The players

India is being represented by Sania Mirza (@mirzasania), Rohan Bopanna (@rohanbopanna) and Leander Paes (@Leander) at the 2014 US Open and you can follow their journey on Twitter through their official accounts next to their name above.

Twitter is also featuring 100% of the top 10 seeded mens’ singles players and 90% of the top 10 seeded womens’ singles. Here are the top-seeded accounts (seed # in parentheses):

Men’s:

  • Novak Djokovic (@DjokerNole, #1) - 3.4 million followers
  • Roger Federer (@rogerfederer, #2) - 2.1 million followers
  • Stanislas Wawrinka (@stanwawrinka, #3) - 329,000 followers
  • David Ferrer (DavidFerrer87, #4) - 750,000 followers
  • Milos Raonic (@milosraonic, #5) - 174,000 followers
  • Tomas Berdych (@tomasberdych, #6) - 112,000 followers
  • Grigor Dimotrov (@GrigorDimitrov, #7) - 95,000 followers
  • Andy Murray (@andy_murray, #8) - 2.7 million followers
  • Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (@tsonga7, #9) - 496,000 followers
  • Kei Nishikori (@keinishikori, #10) - 125,000 followers

Other notables:

Women’s:

Other notables:

Follow each player and watch as genuine excitement unfolds throughout the tournament, notably from five-time #usopen champion Roger Federer:

Official accounts

In addition to the official tournament account (@usopen), these accounts offer insight and access to the tournament:

The #usopen is certain to be an epic final chapter in 2014 Grand Slam tennis, and following the action on Twitter ensures you won’t miss a single moment.

So sit back, join the conversation with us, and enjoy the tennis!