When we determine that a Tweet violates the Twitter Rules, we require the violator to delete it before they can Tweet again. One piece of feedback we've heard regularly is that it's not always clear to people when we took enforcement action or if someone deleted a Tweet on their own. Starting today, we're adding new notices to make it easier to see when we've taken enforcement action on a Tweet.
Now, once we've required a Tweet to be deleted, we will display a notice stating that the Tweet is unavailable because it violated the Twitter Rules along with a link to the Rules and an article that provides more detail on how we enforce our rules. This notice will be displayed on both the account’s profile and the specific Tweet for 14 days after the Tweet is deleted. You'll see this change rolling out to both the app and on Twitter.com in the coming weeks.
We've also gotten feedback that you don't want to continue seeing Tweets you've reported. Starting today, once you've reported a Tweet, it will be hidden behind a notice like the one below. If there’s a need to see the Tweet you reported, you can tap the notice to view it.
Since early 2017, we’ve shipped more than 100 changes or experiments, made more than a dozen policy updates, expanded our teams and enforcement – all to continue building a safer Twitter. We’ve updated our rules with more details and examples to make them easier to understand, improved communication to people who break our rules so they know which Tweet caused the issue and which rule it broke, and notify people with our apps about the reports they file.
Improving our communication around steps we’re taking to keep you safe remains one of our top priorities. We hope these changes bring more clarity on how and when we our enforce our rules.