Insights

#WhatsHappening Vancouver

By Rory Capern
Monday, 14 August 2017

Vancouver is Canada’s third largest city and the home base of many of the top Canadians on Twitter. 

Vancouver features Canada’s most followed airport (@yvrairport), its 5th most followed professional sports team (@Canucks) and top names from the worlds of politics, entertainment and more. 

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.

Many of the top Twitter users from Canada have roots in British Columbia. 

  • Steve Nash (@SteveNash): The all-time most followed Canadian athlete on Twitter
  • Carly Rae Jepsen (@carlyraejepsen) and Michael Buble (@michaelbuble): Both in the Top 10 most followed Canadian musicians on Twitter
  • Ryan Reynolds (@VanCityReynolds) and Seth Rogen (@Sethrogen): Both in the Top 5 most followed Canadian actors on Twitter
This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.

Here are 20 top Vancouver Twitter accounts to follow to get a true sense of #WhatsHappening in Vancouver:

  • Andrea Reimer, Vision Vancouver city councillor - @andreareimer
  • Avan Jogia, model - @AvanJogia
  • Douglas Coupland, artist - @DougCoupland
  • Emmanuel Arceneaux, BC Lions - @mannyshow84
  • Erin Ireland, food blogger, @erinireland
  • Frank Giustra, business leader + philanthropist - @Frank_Giustra
  • Gregor Robertson, Mayor of Vancouver - @MayorGregor
  • Hon. Dr. Hedy Fry, MP - @HedyFry
  • Irene Lanzinger, president of the BC Federation of Labour - @ilanzinger
  • Jay DeMerit, former Whitecaps Captain - @D6MERIT
  • Jillian Harris, lifestyle expert - @jillianharris
  • Jody Wilson-Raybould, MP Vancouver-Granville - @Puglaas
  • Keith Henry, Aboriginal advocate - @KeithHenryMetis
  • Khelsilem, Founder of the Indigenous Language Workers Project - @Khelsilem
  • Kristin Cheung, community arts leader - @cheung_kristin
  • Liz Gleadle, Olympic athlete - @Javelizz
  • Rebecca Bollwitt, blogger - @Miss604 
  • Ryan Holmes, Hootsuite CEO - @invoker 
  • Santa J Ono, UBC President - @ubcprez
  • Sunny Lenarduzzi, entrepreneur - @sunnylenarduzzi
This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
@rorycapern

Rory Capern

‎@rorycapern‎ verified

Managing Director, Twitter Canada