Insights

#WhatsHappening Montreal

By Rory Capern
Thursday, 13 July 2017

Montreal is Canada’s second largest city and home to many of our country’s top Twitter personalities from the worlds of sports, politics, entertainment and more.

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.

Canada’s most followed active male and female athletes both have roots in the city: MMA superstar Georges St Pierre (@GeorgesStPierre) and tennis pro Eugenie Bouchard (@geniebouchard).

Montreal pop/punk outfit Simple Plan (@simpleplan) is Canada’s most followed rock band while #GRAMMY-award winners the Arcade Fire (@arcadefire) recently crossed the 1,000,000 follower mark.

Montreal also has Canada’s most followed university (@mcgillu), its second most followed mayor (@DenisCoderre) and thousands of residents who use Twitter everyday to discuss news and consume content from across Quebec and around the world.

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
  • Here are 20 top #Montreal Twitter accounts to follow to get a true sense of #WhatsHappening in Montreal via Twitter:
  • Alexandre Bilodeau, Olympic skier (@ABilodeau_ski)
  • Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens (@BGALLY17)
  • Denis Coderre, Mayor of Montreal (@DenisCoderre)
  • Isabelle Racicot, media personality (@IsabelleRacicot)
  • Marie Plourde, media personality (@MariePlourde)
  • Patrice Bernier, Montreal Impact (@pbernier)
  • Philippe Pichet, Montreal Chief of Police (@Dir_Pichet)
  • Pierre-Yves Lord, media personality (@PYLord)
  • Sugar Sammy, comedian (@sugarsammy)
  • Véronique Cloutier, TV personality (@CloutierV)
  • Éric Salvail, TV personality (@EricSalvail)
  • Gilbert Rozon, Just For Laughs founder (@GilRozon)
  • Guy A Lepage, comedian (@guyalepage)
  • Alexandre Taillefer, entrepreneur (@ataillefer)
  • Daniele Henkel, entrepreneur (@daniele_henkel)
  • Michelle Blanc, executive (@MichelleBlanc)
  • Geneviève Borne, media personality (@Genevieveborne)
  • Maripier Morin, media personality (@mariepiermorin)
  • Dufour-Lapointe sisters, Olympic skiers (@3_SDL)
  • Xavier Dolan, screenwriter + director (@XDolan)
This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
@rorycapern

Rory Capern

‎@rorycapern‎ verified

Managing Director, Twitter Canada

Only on Twitter