Insights

40 top Canadian executives to follow on Twitter

By Rory Capern
Wednesday, 7 June 2017

Earlier this year, I wrote an article where I appealed for more members of the Canadian C-suite to join the conversation on Twitter.

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.

I had noticed an opportunity for business leaders to engage on social media with their customers, employees, policy influencers and competitors.

There was a huge response to the article. Almost immediately, I began receiving emails, texts and DMs directing me to a cadre of active, vibrant Twitter accounts from leaders of Canadian industry. Across the board, Canadian business leaders were indeed part of the conversation on Twitter.

I dug deeper and realized that the roster of top Canadian executives on Twitter was becoming increasingly broad and engaged. Working with our executive team in Toronto, we decided the timing was right to shine a spotlight and highlight a cross section of these individuals from across the country.

We had a significant pool to pull from but we ultimately created a list of 40 Twitter accounts that we feel exemplify the passion of our top business leaders. The list is populated with executives who use Twitter regularly to share company updates and industry news, engage with customers, employees and partners and Like, Retweet and Reply to top Twitter content.

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.

In short, these are names from across Canada that are driving thought leadership, influence, and impact by their presence on Twitter.

Here is the list of 40, presented in alphabetical order:

  • Tom Anselmi, CEO, Ottawa Senators (@TomAnselmi)
  • Antoinette Benoit, CMO, McDonalds Canada (@zabenoit)
  • Josh Blair, EVP Health, TELUS (@josh_a_blair)
  • Wally Buono, VP and GM of Football Operations, BC Lions (@GM_Brillo)
  • John Chen, CEO, BlackBerry (@JohnChen)
  • Mark Childs, CMO, Samsung Canada (@MarkInspired)
  • Dean Connor, President and CEO, Sun Life Financial Inc. (@DeanAConnor)
  • Lisa de Wilde, CEO, TVO (@lisadewilde)
  • Mary DePaoli, Chief Brand Officer, RBC (@marydepaoli)
  • Michael Dingle, Partner, National Deals Technology Leader, PWC Canada (@dinglemichael)
  • Steve Groves, CIO, Goodlife Fitness (@SteveatGoodLife)
  • Ryan Holmes, CEO, Hootsuite (@invoker)
  • Dale Hooper, Chief Brand Officer, Rogers (@DaleHooper)
  • Michael Katchen, Co-founder and CEO, Wealthsimple (@mkatchen)
  • Janet Kennedy, President and CEO, Microsoft Canada (@JKennedyMSFT)
  • Derek Kent, CMO, Canadian Olympic Committee (@dkent1)
  • Mark Laroche, President, Macdonald-Cartier Airport (@markblaroche)
  • Allen Lau, Co-founder and CEO, Wattpad (@allenlau)
  • Randy Lennox, President, Bell Media (@randylennox7117)
  • Tobi Lütke, CEO, Shopify (@tobi)
  • Isabelle Marcoux, Chair of the Board, Transcontinental Media (@TcIsabelle)
  • Greg McClelland, EVP and CRO, Corus Entertainment (@Greg_Salesguy)
  • Mike McDerment, Co-founder and CEO, Freshbooks (@MikeMcDerment ‏)
  • Theresa McLaughlin, CMO (global), TD (@TheresaM_TD)
  • Bryan Pearson, President, LoyaltyOne (@Pearson4loyalty)
  • Kevin Peesker, President, Dell Canada (@KevinAtDell)
  • Shahrzad Rafati, Founder and CEO, BroadbandTV (@shahrzadrafati)
  • Jade Raymond, Group General Manager - VP Visceral, Motive Studios and Star War, EA (@ibjade)
  • Jeffrey Remedios, President and CEO, Universal Music Canada (@jeffreyremedios ‏)
  • Michael Rossi, CEO, adidas Group Canada (@themjr44)
  • Sam Sebastian, President, Google Canada (@samsebastian)
  • Leerom Segal, CEO, Klick Health (@leeromsegal)
  • Michael Serbinis, CEO, League (@mserbinis) 
  • Brendan Shanahan, President, Toronto Maple Leafs (@brendanshanahan)
  • Andrea Stairs, Managing Director, eBay Canada (@astairsk)
  • Connie Stefankiewicz, CMO, BMO (@ConnieStefank)
  • Kirstine Stewart, CSO, Diply (@kirstinestewart)
  • Michael Tamblyn, CEO, Kobo (@mtamblyn)
  • Dino Trevisani, President and GM, IBM Canada (@DinoTrevisani)
  • Rossann Williams, President, Starbucks Canada (@Rossann1)

Here are some additionals thoughts from two of the executives on our list as to why Twitter has become an essential communications tool:

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.

“As the leader of a large organization, it’s important that I understand how Canadians are feeling about Microsoft’s products and services and our overall brand. Twitter is a great vehicle for engaging in two-way conversations  to learn more about our customers’ unique needs so we can deliver technology solutions to empower them to achieve more.  I can think of a number of occasions where Twitter has enabled me to garner key insights and learnings  that I may not have had if I wasn’t actively engaged on the platform.”

- Janet Kennedy, President and CEO, Microsoft Canada (@JKennedyMSFT)

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
This Tweet is unavailable.

"Twitter helps me engage with people connected to Sun Life in various ways - from employees and advisors around the world, clients and community partners. It's a good way to share a bit about our culture and some of the cool things going on across the company. While I'm still upping my game on group selfies, I love the on-the-spot interaction."

- Dean Connor, President and CEO, Sun Life Financial (@DeanAConnor)

For executives not on Twitter, here are 10 ways to use the service from the C-Suite:

  1. Connect with colleagues and employees
  2. Humanize the brand; Be the brand’s conscience
  3. Listen and respond to customers
  4. Control the message and influence the press
  5. Move the market
  6. Respond to critics
  7. Attract and retain great talent
  8. Engage with your partners and peers
  9. Inspire the next generation of business leaders
  10. Promote causes and ideals; Share a unique point of view

We are excited to see their conversations on Twitter continue to flourish as more Canadian executives, customers, partners and employees join in. Please connect with me on Twitter @rorycapern. I look forward to hearing from you.

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.
@rorycapern

Rory Capern

‎@rorycapern‎ verified

Managing Director, Twitter Canada

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.

This Tweet is unavailable
This Tweet is unavailable.